GEOGRAPHY CLUB BY BRENT HARTINGER PDF

GEOGRAPHY CLUB by Brent Hartinger (HarperCollins, ). Russel Middlebrook has a secret from even his best friends at high school, that he’s gay. But an. A modern classic about a group of teens discovering sexuality and identity, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli, Adam Silvera, and David Hart. A closeted gay high school sophomore narrates Hartinger’s uneven yet realistic first novel. The story starts out strong, when Russel meets a jock from his school, .

Author: Gozragore Fejin
Country: Bangladesh
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Software
Published (Last): 8 September 2018
Pages: 23
PDF File Size: 15.93 Mb
ePub File Size: 7.63 Mb
ISBN: 636-8-69449-991-6
Downloads: 35783
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Mazujas

Russel Middlebrook is keeping a secret from his two best friends, Min, a bright Chinese American girl, and Gunnar, a bright and socially awkward boy. Oct 26, Elspeth rated it ckub liked it Shelves: It is an easy read, suited for younger teens, but even enjoyable to a reader who has not been a member of the target audience for some decades now! Overall, this novel does a fine job of presenting many of the complex realities of gay teen life, and also what it takes hartingdr be a “thoroughly decent” person.

Questions?

But how can kids this diverse get together without drawing attention to themselves? Apr 26, Josephine biblioseph rated it did not like it Shelves: The same is true for Russel’s friends Min and Terese, who although they claim to just be really close friends, are actually in love.

One thing leads to another and Russel has his first boyfriend, but at a steep price. This would be a good book for adolescents struggling with their sexual identity.

We have all been cub. I can easily recommend Geography Club as a good book to read. Russel is still going on dates with girls. The main character shows promise in the first chapter and then as the story progresses he becomes this clingy high school girl that needs to do everything he can in order to impress and keep his boyfriend.

  KIDSVERBRAUCHERANALYSE 2012 PDF

He gets to be part of this club, and talk about this “struggle”? In a nutshell, guy finds out he’s not the only kid who identifies as non-heterosexual and so they create a club so they can hang out. And there’s absolutely bby sex on page only hinted at fooling around in fade to black scenes.

Looking for beautiful books? But it still had my interest from the first moment Despite the focus on sexuality and the sex it leads to, bullying at its most cruel, and broken hearts abounding, this novel has an innocence to it. And my work load from the beginning of the year is unimaginable, so it was a feat. It is my second read of this book.

Geography Club (Russel Middlebrook, book 1) by Brent Hartinger

But, being decades away from the coming out process, there was really nothing new for me. I liked Russel, in good and bad he was who he was supposed to be: I actually don’t remember reading the book and have nartinger idea what’s going on here, but I’ll post it anyway. It’s better than most YA, which isn’t saying much. God, I just don’t read or listen to YA as a whole Again, no much courage among these boys and girls, and surprise surprise, for once the hero of the novel, Russel, is not an hero at all, on the contrary he breent actually the one who will behave in the worst way against another kid.

Hartinger later adapted his novel into a play, Geography Club. And that sometimes, no matter how much you might wish for things to be out in the open, you’re just not ready. Reviewed by Me for TeensReadToo.

I wouldn’t have cared. Thankfully I can s This was actually a pretty good read.

GEOGRAPHY CLUB by Brent Hartinger | Kirkus Reviews

I also adore Russel’s best friends, Min and Gunnar, because they aren’t portrayed as the typical “he’s been my BFFL and always has my back no matter what” crap. Thankfully I can say it’s not a personal thing so much as a lot of the issues and realities in the story are things people around me have had to be dealing with personally right now. Nov 20, Dig rated it really liked it. Slight rating change to make room for another YA title that I am already loving more Also see Kiki’s review.

  74LS04 HEX INVERTER GATES DATASHEET PDF

These are the types of teenagers that exist in every high school, struggling to get through the minefield of social acceptance and rejection with the added pressure of being different. As a book, though, it was predictable and the narrator-talking-to-the-reader element was cliche, but I think it could have been much more effective if the character of Russel leapt more off the page.

Goodreads is the world’s largest site for readers with over 50 million reviews. And that even more suck in high school where they say has the best memories but it is also where anyone can find themselves in a toughest situation.

It’s definitely a book that explores the topic in a real way, and isn’t derrogatory or condescending. Ladies and gentlemen, brace yourselves – This book is actual proof that no matter how badly written a book is, it will be made into a movie if the message is strong enough! He starts the Geography Club: It was a good representation of high school life. Things feel good and fun when kept a secret but when the secret i 3. It’s just a great book, and I’ve been wanting to read it for so long.

GEOGRAPHY CLUB

But thankfully, just as things come to a hopeful end in Russell’s life, things are looking up out here. Discover what to read next. And your hair has the colour of autumn leaves.